Chocolate chip zucchini goodness

On Sunday afternoon I sought out to make some more muffins for this week. They are becoming a staple in our household–an easy snack for me and a quick breakfast for my husband who has to be at work at the crack of dawn and won’t really eat breakfast otherwise.  I love just about anything chocolate chip, and I had more zucchinis from this weekend’s farmer’s market, so I thought it might be fun to try to make some sort of muffins combining the two. As I searched through zucchini chocolate chip bread/muffin recipes online, I stumbled upon this one for low fat chocolate chip zucchini bread and knew immediately that I wanted to give it a go. I liked that it didn’t call for a lot of butter (we had hardly any in the fridge) and that the recipe incorporated applesauce.  I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour instead of white whole wheat flour, and I added cinnamon which always adds a nice pop of flavor!  The recipe made 12 muffins, and they were glorious! They are good enough to make and share with others, and they are good for you. I caught a glimpse of my husband leaving for work this morning with not one, but two muffins. That spoke volumes to me.  What a way to start the day, chocolate and some greens in one. This is a great breakfast option for someone who needs a quick bite to eat on the go or someone like me who cannot make it to lunch time without a snack. Taking a few moments to eat my oven warmed muffin with a cup of coffee around mid morning was an absolute treat.

2 Comments to “Chocolate chip zucchini goodness”

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your muffins with us, tonight. I never had anything sweet that was baked with zucchini before and I have to admit that I was a little skeptical at first. But you were totally right: They really are sooo good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

